Tags

, , , , , , ,

Little Women for Little Women in Afghanistan

Founder: Alaina Podmorow

Age: 15

Little Women for Little Women in Afghanistan is a great example of one individual, making a big difference! Here is a blurb from an article written by the founder (read the full article here: http://www.butterfliesandwheels.org/2010/a-very-young-activists-reply/):

“I founded this organization 3 years ago, when I was 9 years old. In the fall of 2006, I found out that the privileges that I have, other girls in our world don’t get. I learned about this when I went with my Mom to listen to journalist, author and human rights activist, Sally Armstrong speak about Afghanistan. She told stories about the terrible things that happen to little girls in Afghanistan. I was so moved. It was so upsetting to me that these girls weren’t able to exercise their rights. They were not able to go to school and sometimes they didn’t go to school because they were afraid they would be hurt or even killed.

… I am very passionate about my work, which along with raising awareness is funding education projects in Afghanistan. I do this with support from Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan. The author told a story about an organization that does not exist. CW4WA are Moms and Sisters and friends who work together side by side because they have listened to the girls and women in Afghanistan and heard them plead for help. Unlike so many who hear about human rights violations and shake their heads and do nothing, they did not. They took action. I can’t think that the person that wrote this stuff could have ever been to Afghanistan. I have not either. Honestly, I want to go so bad but I am scared that I could get killed and just imagine living in fear like that every day. I know it’s different for adults when they think about human rights and how much we should interfere, but in the words of my great inspiration Sally Armstrong…”

Some more articles:

This young girl is truly an inspiration to think outside of the box and outside of your community. Too often we get caught up in our own worlds and forget that there are prevalent issues that are being faced by individuals just like us, around the world.

Podmorrow says it best: “There are no Western rights or Eastern Rights, there are only human rights.”

